Fierce Women Dish

an artist, a journalist, an activist, a psychologist, a student, and a diva place a cup of nourishment on the table.

Follow-up on “Times of Trouble” September 8, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — fiercewomen @ 9:06 am
Tags:

From Crystal:

I recently blogged about the economic trouble where I work. We are going through another round of buyouts, cutbacks and quite probably layoffs.

I was trying to decide what to do: Sign up for a buyout or ride it out.

I started drafting a Manifesto of Change, what I thought we needed to do to survive. I wasn’t sure whether to finish it and give it to my bosses or let it go.

My query to you was: Do I “Let It Be” or “Get Up, Stand Up”?

I didn’t have to make that decision. On Sept. 2, I found out that my job would be changing soon. In a good way.

I can’t dish on details yet, but the change is something that I suggested earlier this year. And it was the fourth bullet-point in the Manifesto (still a draft on my laptop).

While I’m stoked about the opportunity, my enthusiasm is tempered by the buyouts, cutbacks, etc.

Lessons learned (again, using lines from songs to summarize):

“You gotta have faith.” I do love me some George Michael.

“Feels so good, when you’re doing all the things that you want to do.” This one is from “Just Fine” by Mary J. Blige, which you should go download right now.

 

Leave a Reply

