Fierce Women Dish

an artist, a journalist, an activist, a psychologist, a student, and a diva place a cup of nourishment on the table.

Magazines and books that do women justice June 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — fiercewomen @ 5:53 pm
Tags: , ,

Books and Magazines

 

Crystal:   “Are Men Necessary?” by Maureen Dowd; “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert (it’s almost cliche to cite this one, I know); “Good in Bed” by Jennifer Weiner; “Candy Girl” by Diablo Cody (don’t judge it until you read it); “The Good Body” by Eve Ensler; “Love Walked In” by Marisa de los Santos.

 

Donna:  I will have to come out at this point and admit to being a magazine junkie. At one point some years ago I had eight subscriptions of a combination of different fashion, beauty, fitness and health mags; there is nothing that I love more that taking a stolen hour (or fifteen minutes, or whatever to sit and thumb through and read them) I realize that I have such a love/ hate relationship with them; many of them consistently send a mixed messages. I now read them with a more critical eye and have discontinued my subscription to many of them over one offense or another. (Ex: I will never forgive ‘W’ Magazine for printing a horrible comment about Kate Winslet’s appearance at an event in the late 90’s.) I have new criteria for a subscription: unless a fashion magazine regularly features women of all sizes and includes racial diversity on the cover as well as inside the mag, I won’t subscribe. I also can’t take the fitness mags anymore at all. They leave me with the feeling that I am not doing enough and I really hate that feeling, so I don’t read them.  A magazine I love: Marie Claire. It consistently features articles about women doing great things in the world and women that have lived/ are living through extraordinary circumstances as well as some fun fashion-y type things. In honor of my upcoming 40th birthday I have been picking up More magazine and really am loving it as well.

 

Janine:  I love the publications that honor women from “More” (for women over 40) to “Essence (celebrating women of color) to “O” magazine (that offers self-empowerment to women)—they all in some way help me keep my sanity. Even though we aren’t still where we should be in honoring our women through the media, I take pride in enjoying the small doses sent my way.  Even the music I choose to listen to, from India Arie to Angie Stone to Beyonce (sometimes) there are mediums that ‘get it’ and understand that women have a place in this world and it should be honored.

 

Leave a Reply

